The Register of Deeds office provides a standardized, permanent record of real estate ownership and transfers in Alamance County. Our office records deeds, deeds of trust, cancellations, plats, assumed names, powers of attorney and other miscellaneous documents related to real estate. Our office also records and issues birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates, marriage licenses, military discharges, and maintains the records of notary public commissions.
If you are requesting a certified copy of your marriage license and have recently been married, please do not request a copy until 10 days after your marriage date.
Charges will apply when ordering vital records. Please note the information below:
Please note: If you choose to pick up your records in person, rather than have them sent via mail, you will be required to present a valid state issued identification proving you are 18 years or older. In addition, you may elect to have your record(s) order picked up by the following persons:
Click the appropriate link button to request information.
All requests will be checked for accuracy. Any inaccurate information may result in your record not being processed. All communication with regard to your order, payment, our progress, and the records delivery will be sent via email.
The Register of Deeds office acts as a recording office only. North Carolina General Statutes specifically prohibit the Register of Deeds or the staff from practicing law. We are unable to supply legal forms, provide instructions on drafting or completing forms, or answer questions regarding the legal consequences of instruments filed. We advise you to consult an attorney if you have any legal questions.
|Certified Birth Certificate||$10.00 ea|
|Uncertified Birth Certificate||$1.00 ea|
|Delayed Birth Certificate Application||$10.00 ea|
|Certified Marriage Certificate||$10.00 ea|
|Uncertified Marriage Certificate||$1.00 ea|
|Marriage License (In-Office Only)||$60.00 ea|
|Marriage License Corrections (In-Office Only)||$10.00 ea|
|Certified Death Certificate||$10.00 ea|
|Uncertified Death Certificate||$1.00 ea|
* An additional Non-Refundable $3 Convenience and Credit Card Processing Fee will be applied to all online orders
* An additional Non-Refundable $0.35 VitalVerify fee will be applied to all 'delivery' orders.
|NC General Statute 130A-26A||It is a felony violation to fraudulently request a certified copy of a vital record or obtain, possess, sell, furnish, use, or attempt to use for any purpose of deception a North Carolina Vital Record.|
|NC General Statute 130A-93||This statute specifies who is entitled to obtain a certified copy of a North Carolina Vital Record. Those entitled to obtain as follows: yourself, spouse, brother / sister, child / step-child, parent / step-parent, grandparent, grandchild, authorized agent, attorney or other legal representative (proof required).|
Monday - Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM